White Salmon Studio

WildCraft began in our rural studio in the summer of 2013. The goal was to create a space where interdisciplinary practices can live side by side, informing and expanding the approach to each study. Our classes and teachers embody this goal, by bringing nature to studio work, aesthetics to the garden, and design-thinking to all projects. Through this integrated curriculum, we hope to dissolve the divisions that exist between art and everyday life.

Our White Salmon studio offers weekend workshops in herbal medicine and land-based skills. We use this studio as a starting place for many of our foraging workshops, wildflower walks and place-based expeditions. This studio is located on a 5 acre residential property located in the hills above White Salmon, WA. We do have neighbors, and we ask that you respect the privacy of those living on the property. The studio is not open for unannounced drop-ins. If you’d like to visit the studio, please email us first!

Classes at White Salmon Studio:

Adirondack Pack-Basket Weaving (June Session)

Saturday June 03, 2017 - Sunday June 04, 2017

Learn to weaving an Adirondack pack-basket in this 2-day intensive.

Herbal Wines, Cordials & Elixirs

Saturday June 10, 2017

This class will explore the history of herbal brewing and an introduction to basic herbal winemaking principles.

Indigo & Shibori (June Session)

Saturday June 17, 2017

Learn a brief history of indigo dye, how to extract color and potency from the dye bath, and several surface design & patterning techniques.

Healing Herbal Oils, Salves, Poultices and Balms

Saturday June 24, 2017

Together, students will learn about some powerful plants and medicine making using plants like Violet, Comfrey, Plantain, and Saint John’s Wort

Willow Gathering Basket

Saturday July 15, 2017 - Sunday July 16, 2017

Learn to weave a medium sized willow basket in this 2-day intensive.

Bedouin Weaving from Israel and Beyond

Thursday July 20, 2017 - Sunday July 23, 2017

The ancient art of Bedouin weaving remains to this day, an indigenous process of making peace and renewing the world.

Natural Paintmaking: Watercolor

Saturday September 16, 2017

Participants will have hands-on experience in processing minerals into pigments, and combining binders to create natural watercolor paints.

Textile Screenprinting with Natural Dyes

Saturday October 21, 2017 - Sunday October 22, 2017

Learn how to screenprint patterns on textiles using natural dyes.

Natural Paintmaking: Oil & Egg Tempera

Saturday October 28, 2017

Participants will have hands-on experience in processing minerals into pigments, as well as mixing them with various types of binders to make oil paint.

Root to Flower: Natural Dye Intensive

Sunday October 29, 2017


Stinging Nettle Gather & Cordage Making

Saturday November 04, 2017 - Sunday November 05, 2017

Harvest and process nettle into cordage, using techniques and traditions preserved by NW Native artists.