Textile Classes

Oaxacan Natural Dyes

Saturday January 15, 2022

The Bautistas will guide the group in processing a range of traditional dye materials,…

Traditional Zapotec Weaving

Friday January 21, 2022

Students will work with hand-dyed wool fibers, learning how to create geometric and…

Punch Needle Rugs (Jan)

Saturday January 22, 2022

Join us for a 1-day exploration of an early American craft, Punch Needle Rug Hooking,…

Contemporary Hand Quilting (Jan)

Sunday January 23, 2022

Students will design and hand sew their own contemporary quilted piece, but don’t…

Kitchen Sink Dyes

Saturday January 29, 2022

Join us for a tour through the pantry, fridge and spice rack, searching for color…

Knitted Cabin Socks

Sunday January 30, 2022

The ability to take a few balls of yarn and turn them into custom heirloom cabin…

Animal Friendly, Felted Sheepskins (Jan)

Sunday January 30, 2022

In this workshop, students will become familiar with the qualities of different types…

Learn to Knit Overshot: Pillows!

Tuesday February 01, 2022

Elspeth will share a custom-designed pattern with students, and together the group…

Winter Color: Natural Dyes of Portland

Saturday February 12, 2022

Come explore the hidden dye plants that dot the urban landscape of Portland, Oregon!

Machine Tufting (Feb)

Saturday February 12, 2022

Join us for a 2-day intensive using a tufting machine, allowing the maker to work…

Punch Needle Rugs (Feb)

Saturday February 19, 2022

Join us for a 1-day exploration of an early American craft, Punch Needle Rug Hooking,…

Indigo Patterning: Shibori & Resist Methods

Sunday February 20, 2022

In this class, students will gain in-depth experience in textile patterning with…

Weekend Weaving Intensive

Friday February 25, 2022

Join weaver Jessica Bardsley for a weekend of weaving techniques and bump your skills…

Overshot Knitting: Sweater Construction (4-Week Series)

Wednesday March 02, 2022

Elspeth will share a custom-designed pattern with students, and together the group…

Repeat Pattern Design: Block Printed Textiles

Saturday March 05, 2022

Learn the process of designing a repeat pattern suited for textiles, carving and…

In-Depth Mordanting

Sunday March 06, 2022

Students will take a deep dive into the world of natural color-modifiers and color-binders…

Sculptural Felting

Saturday March 12, 2022

Columbian textile artist, Maria Lucia Londoño teaches an exploration of surface design,…

Mushroom Dye & Pigment

Saturday March 12, 2022

Artist, farmer, and aspiring mycologist Julie Beeler will guide students through…

Slow Fashion: Plant-Dyed Garments

Saturday March 19, 2022

This workshop focuses on natural dyes that are suitable for cotton or linen garments…

Machine Tufting (March)

Saturday March 26, 2022

Join us for a 2-day intensive using a tufting machine, allowing the maker to work…

Spring Color: Natural Dyes of Portland

Saturday April 02, 2022

Come explore the hidden dye plants that dot the urban landscape of Portland, Oregon!

Beginning Weaving: 4-Week Intensive (April)

Tuesday April 05, 2022

During this evening weaving series, you will learn the basics of weaving on a rigid…

Japanese Natural Dyes

Saturday April 09, 2022

Ai (indigo), beni (safflower), akane (madder), and murasaki (alkanet) are among some…

Sashiko Japanese Mending (April)

Sunday April 10, 2022

Used for centuries by rural people in Japan to mend and repair clothing, Sashiko…

Textile Marbling (April)

Saturday April 16, 2022

Swirling patterns, organic shapes and natural formations: marbling offers a playful,…

Beginning Weaving: 4-Week Intensive (May)

Thursday May 05, 2022

During this evening weaving series, you will learn the basics of weaving on a rigid…

Mama & Child Natural Dyes

Saturday May 07, 2022

Join us for a special Mama & Child natural dyes class! All the steps of natural dyeing…

Rag Rug Weaving (May)

Friday May 20, 2022

Repurposed materials from sheets and clothing will be the basis of students’ exploration…

Contemporary Hand Quilting (May)

Sunday May 22, 2022

Students will design and hand sew their own contemporary quilted piece, but don’t…

Columbia Gorge Natural Dyes

Sunday May 22, 2022

The Columbia Gorge is in full bloom this time of year, and with a bright array of…

Textile Marbling (June)

Saturday June 04, 2022

Swirling patterns, organic shapes and natural formations: marbling offers a playful,…

Summer Color: Natural Dyes of Portland

Sunday June 05, 2022

Come explore the hidden dye plants that dot the urban landscape of Portland, Oregon!

Punch Needle Rugs (June)

Sunday June 05, 2022

Join us for a 1-day exploration of an early American craft, Punch Needle Rug Hooking,…

Family Indigo Dyeing!

Sunday June 19, 2022

Share the creative magic of indigo and part with beautifully dyed and patterned cotton…

Katazome Indigo Resist

Saturday June 25, 2022

Katazome is a centuries-old Japanese dyeing technique in which artists create a resist…

Fresh Leaf Indigo

Saturday July 09, 2022

Calling all you urban indigo growers! Come play with freshly extracted indigo pigment…

Coastal Color: Natural Dyes of the Oregon Coast (July)

Saturday July 16, 2022

This workshop leads students on a tour of natural colors found in the plants of the…

Flower Farm Dyes at Sweet Delilah Farm (July)

Saturday July 23, 2022

For plant-dye enthusiasts! Students will be working on-site at Sweet Delilah Farm…

Coastal Color: Natural Dyes of the Oregon Coast (Aug)

Saturday August 06, 2022

This workshop leads students on a tour of natural colors found in the plants of the…

Flower Farm Dyes at Sweet Delilah Farm (Aug)

Saturday August 27, 2022

For plant-dye enthusiasts! Students will be working on-site at Sweet Delilah Farm…