Textiles

Summer Color: Natural Dyes of Portland

Saturday June 30, 2018

Portland is in full bloom this time of year, and with a bright array of dye plants…

Hungarian Written Embroidery

Saturday June 30, 2018

In this class you will learn the basic stitches of Hungarian written embroidery,…

Flax to Linen: Willamette Valley Fiber & Spinning

Sunday July 08, 2018

Tour a Willamette Valley flax farm, and learn how to process this ancient material…

Vibrant Valley Fresh Indigo Dye

Saturday July 28, 2018

The ladies behind Vibrant Valley Farm have spent the past 2 years studying, testing…

Natural Dyes for Beginners

Saturday September 08, 2018

Learning the process of natural dyeing may seem like a daunting prospect, and after…

Weekend Weaving Intensive

Friday September 14, 2018

In this weekend intensive, you will learn how to the basics of weaving on a table-top…

Silk Painting

Saturday September 22, 2018

Learn to paint on lustrous silk fabric with your own hand drawn designs. Gutta resist…

Flower Farm Dyes: Natural Dyeing on Sauvie Island

Sunday September 23, 2018

For plant-dye enthusiasts! Students will be working on-site at Vibrant Valley Farm…

Textile Marbling

Saturday September 29, 2018

This one-day workshop will begin with a short lecture on necessary preparation steps…

Fall Color: Natural Dyes of the Columbia River Gorge

Sunday October 07, 2018

This 1-day workshop introduces beginning and experienced natural dyers to the native…

Experimental Surface Design

Sunday October 07, 2018

Pattern, print, texture, color: this class is an investigation into playful techniques…

Katazome Indigo Resist

Saturday October 20, 2018

Katazome is a centuries-old Japanese dyeing technique in which artists create a resist…

Weekend Weaving Intensive

Friday October 26, 2018

In this weekend intensive, you will learn how to the basics of weaving on a table-top…

The Art of Mending

Sunday October 28, 2018

Extend the life of your clothing, while creating functional art and building vital…

Experimental Weaving

Sunday November 04, 2018

This class is a lab for exploration and sampling, using unconventional materials…

Large-Scale Felted Vessels

Saturday November 10, 2018

Learn the ancient art of felted, and leave with a large-scale felted vessel.

Winter Color: Natural Dyes of Portland

Saturday November 17, 2018

From harvest and plant ID, to preparing fibers: this workshop leads students through…