Craft Classes

Blackberry Vine Basketry: Harvesting, Processing, & Weaving

Sunday June 07, 2020

Students will learn how to harvest, process, and weave Himalayan Blackberry skins…

Adirondack Pack-Basket Weaving (June)

Saturday June 13, 2020

Learn to weaving an Adirondack pack-basket in this 2-day intensive.

From Tree to Table: Cutting Boards, Cheese Boards & Tea Trays

Saturday June 20, 2020

Learn to make a simple, functional, and handmade cutting board, cheese board, or…

Urban Botanical Inks

Sunday June 21, 2020

Learn how to prepare natural pigments and plant materials for botanical ink-making.

Big Baskets: Weaving with Reed (Jun 27-28)

Saturday June 27, 2020

Explore structural design and plaited weaving techniques to create unique, large…

Woven Leather Baskets (June)

Saturday June 27, 2020

Students will learn how to transform leather into beautiful usable objects through…

Big Baskets: Weaving with Reed (July 11-12)

Saturday July 11, 2020

Explore structural design and plaited weaving techniques to create unique, large…

Botanical Watercolor at Sweet Delilah Flower Farm

Saturday July 11, 2020

Students will learn to plan compositions using thumbnail sketches, creating depth…

Clay & Fire: East Creek Ceramics Retreat

Saturday July 18, 2020

East Creek is pleased to host this special 2-day ceramics retreat in collaboration…

Moku-hanga: Traditional Japanese Woodblock Printing

Saturday July 18, 2020

Students will learn the proper use of traditional tools and materials, carving, basic…

Post & Rung Stool Building (July)

Friday July 24, 2020

In this class, students will build a post-and-rung stool out of sustainably harvested…

Silver & Brass Earrings

Sunday July 26, 2020

Dive into jewelry-making with this 1-day workshop, focused on metalsmithing techniques…

Hand Carved Rings: Wax to Bronze & Silver

Sunday August 16, 2020

Beginning with a piece of jeweler’s wax, students will learn to carve, melt, drill…

Wooden Spoon Carving (Aug)

Sunday August 23, 2020

Learn how to select an ideal wood for carving, how to use simple hand-carving tools…

Adirondack Pack-Basket Weaving (Aug)

Saturday August 29, 2020

Learn to weaving an Adirondack pack-basket in this 2-day intensive.

Collagraph Printmaking: Construction & Printing (4-week)

Tuesday September 08, 2020

Join us in building and printing collagraph plates by adhering commonplace materials…

Moku-hanga: Traditional Japanese Woodblock Printing (4-week)

Wednesday September 09, 2020

Students will learn the proper use of traditional tools and materials, carving, basic…

Introduction to Oil Painting (4-week)

Thursday September 10, 2020

This four week intensive course, taught by Rachel Warkentin, teaches a gentler, less…

Carving Wooden Wares: 4-Week Intensive

Monday September 14, 2020

Transform a freshly cut log or branch into beautiful hand-carved household utensils,…

Post & Rung Stool Building (Sept)

Friday September 18, 2020

In this class, students will build a post-and-rung stool out of sustainably harvested…

Traditional Egg Tempera Paint Making & Technique

Saturday September 19, 2020

In this in-depth workshop by artist Rachel Warkentin, students will prepare two recipes…

Beginning Basketry

Sunday September 20, 2020

In this beginning basketry class, students will explore fundamental plaiting and…

Woven Beaded Rings

Saturday September 26, 2020

The workshop will cover simple patterns in traditional flat weave one-bead netting,…

Willow Basket Weaving

Saturday September 26, 2020

Join us in this hands-on class to learn the basics of willow basketry, using locally…

Wooden Spoon Carving (Oct)

Sunday October 04, 2020

Learn how to select an ideal wood for carving, how to use simple hand-carving tools…

Botanical Gouache Watercolor Painting

Saturday October 10, 2020

Students will learn to plan compositions using thumbnail sketches, creating depth…

Skin-on-Frame Kayak Building

Saturday October 17, 2020

Students will learn to build a kayak frame using only lashing, mortise and tenons,…

Leatherworking Basics

Sunday October 18, 2020

Students will learn to make a wallet, pouch, or small bag from start to finish, and…

Adirondack Pack-Basket Weaving (Oct)

Saturday October 24, 2020

Learn to weaving an Adirondack pack-basket in this 2-day intensive.

Basket Weaving: Natural Material Fiber Exploration

Saturday October 31, 2020

Explore structural design and weaving techniques to create unique, personalized baskets…

Big Baskets: Weaving with Reed (Nov)

Saturday November 07, 2020

Explore structural design and plaited weaving techniques to create unique, large…

Introduction to Papercutting

Saturday November 14, 2020

Learn how to prepare natural pigments and plant materials for botanical ink-making.

Pigments of Place: Natural Paint Making

Sunday November 15, 2020

This class is an invitation to connect with the land and its colors by learning to…

Woven Leather Baskets (Nov)

Sunday November 22, 2020

Students will learn how to transform leather into beautiful usable objects through…

Winter Wreath Making

Saturday November 28, 2020

This workshop goes beyond the basics of wreath construction, to share the art of…

Swedish Dala Horse Carving

Sunday November 29, 2020

In this seasonal workshop, students will learn Scandinavian flat-plane figure carving…